Quickie

Wooooooah, long time no post!  April has been a busy month for us; we were Out West visiting my family for about ten days, home for about ten days, and now heading to Knox’s family tomorrow.  I enjoy having plans.

The visit to my parents’ house was so nice and relaxing.  It was perfect timing since all that first trimester blah hit me full force a few weeks ago.  My mom cooked and watched the kids.  I sat around and read an absurdly unrealistic book that advises women expecting twins to eat 3500 calories a day (mostly protein and fat), gain 30 pounds during the first half of the pregnancy, avoid all housework, and take a nap every morning and afternoon.  Come ON.  I actually wish I hadn’t read that, because now if the babies come early I’ll have reason to blame myself.

But yes, lots of great family time with my brothers and sisters (not as much as I would have liked) and some catching up with extended family.  Almost none of said extended family seemed to know about the surrogacy.  I thought that was odd; I had assumed that my grandmother would have disseminated that information.  It doesn’t really matter.  Actually, I probably won’t see any of them again until Christmas or next summer, so it’s possible they might never find out.  I know my mom would be happy with that scenario, since she’s not exactly proud of my situation.

It’ll be interesting to compare/contrast with Knox’s family this weekend.  We’ll be attending a wedding, and all of his aunts and uncles and cousins already know about the pregnancy.  They’re all, as far as I know, supportive.  None of them are LDS.  I’m wondering if there will be any awkward conversations with Louisa and her husband, who aren’t super excited about the situation.  Louisa, by the way, is expecting her fifth baby just about a month before the twins are due.  So there’s a pretty good chance we’ll be having babies around the same time.  We’ve been pregnant together before (I with Elspeth and she with her second daughter) and I like being able to compare/contrast our experiences as we get further and further along.  Since she has carried twins before, she’ll know where I’m coming from with certain aspects of this particular pregnancy.  But given the genders of these babies’ parents, I’m wondering if Louisa will be uncomfortable talking about the pregnancy.  We shall see.

A week ago we had another ultrasound; both babies are looking great and measuring right on target for their gestational age.  We could see that they’re starting to look more baby-shaped, with arm buds and leg buds, and one of them was moving around a ton.  Amazing!  Ultrasounds always strike me as miraculous.  I love being able to see what’s going on inside my womb.  It’s cheesy and cliché, but it’s also true: life is really a miracle.  Next week I get to starting weaning off of the hormone medications (YAY) and see my OB for the first time.   And just a few weeks after that we’ll be into the second trimester already!

Not much else to report!  No news is good news with pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

